Showing 91 results

Archival description
Papers of Barbara Burford
Print preview View:

1 results with digital objects Show results with digital objects

Young British and Black

Some of Barbara's notes on a piece of non-fiction prose she was writing, explaining her motiviations for undertaking the writing project. In the notes she identifies that the final piece will be called either "Young British and Black", "Building Our Own Mirror" or "Part of Me is a Stranger". There are three copies of these notes.


This series contains draft copies of many of Barbara's literary works, including Patterns, Gennis, The Threshing Floor, Trooping of the Colour, Elysian Fields, Dreen, Finders Keepers, Martha, The Way She Walks, A Widow Born and a collection of Poetry.

Women Working Worldwide Report

Women Working Worldwide was a one day conference on the international division of labour in the clothing, textiles and electronics industries. This report provides details of the conference proceedings.

Untitled Piece of Prose

A copy of the first chapter of an untitled piece of prose fiction. It is unclear whether or not it is by Barbara. The chapter revolves around the theme of family, focussing particularly on a woman named Beatrice, her cousins and her aunt.

Trooping of the Colour

This file contains two draft copies of "Trooping of the Colour", a piece of prose fiction set in space and about Sergeant Brun's new troop's preparations for their Emperor's Birthday Celebrations.

Third Draft

This copy of "Elysian Fields" contains a lot of Barbara's notes and revisions. In this copy the central character of the piece is called Jenner and is male.

Third Draft

This copy of Gennis seems to have taken on board the revisions noted on the second draft. It is otherwise unlabelled, so whether it was the final draft is unknown.

The Way She Walks

This subseries contains one copy of the Way She Walks, a short story about two best friends, Penny and Jenny, who are in love with the same woman. While it is not signed by Barbara, it explores themes common in much of her work and the corrections are in a hand that resembles hers.

The Threshing Floor

The Threshing floor was a novella and collection of short stories. It included "Dreaming the Sky Down", which was the novella, "The Pinstrpe Summer", "He Said...", "Miss Jessie", "Coming of Age", "A Time for Every Purpose" and the title piece, "The Threshing Floor". This file contains draft copies of "The Threshing Floor" and "Miss Jessie".

Results 1 to 10 of 91